The Burn It Down book tour you can enjoy from your couch (or podcast provider)

Hello! I hope you're well. I've been busy! Turns out writing a book about Hollywood exploitation and the factors behind industry labor unrest makes a gal kind of popular when both the Writers Guild of America and SAG-AFTRA go on strike. So that's a big reason why I haven't been sending out newsletter updates as often as I'd like. I'm also working on some other stuff I can't talk about just yet, but I'll squawk about those things on my socials (and here) when I can.

All that said, I do have something for you: An update on media appearances about my book, Burn It Down: Power Complicity and a Call for Change in Hollywood. If you ever (very kindly) asked me, "Hey Mo, when is your book tour?" This is pretty much my "book tour": I went on a lot of podcasts, radio shows and talked to a lot of media folks about the book. I did do one big in-person thing (with another one coming up). It has all been gratifying, exciting and amazing.

Before I get to a list of Burn It Down coverage you can sample from your couch or podcast provider, a couple bits of news: I will be at Chicago’s Printer’s Row Lit Fest September 10 on a panel with author Mikki Kendall, and I’m super excited about it — come on down if you can.

Also, I just about died (in a good way!) when this feedback from Kerry Washington came across my Instagram feed. If you find the type too small to read, she called it “great reading to contextualize this necessary strike” and “Fascinating. Devastating. Important.” Wow!

As you may already know, the book is my reaction to and examination of the trends that produced #MeToo and various racial reckonings as well as the labor unrest gripping Hollywood during Hot Strike Summer. For the book, I interviewed more than 150 people at all levels of the industry, and did several deep dives on troubled productions and franchises — reporting that illuminates how entrenched the biggest problems are.

The chapter on serious problems at the hit TV show Lost and its “poisonous culture” was excerpted by Vanity Fair (there’s a longer version of this chapter in the book). The week that Lost excerpt came out was a wild, tumultuous ride, and I’m beyond grateful that the great folks at the ATX TV Festival gave a panel to myself and writer/creators Javier Grillo-Marxuach and Melinda Hsu Taylor (both were sources for that chapter and many other parts of the book), so we could process the whole thing. On that panel, which is available via the TV Campfire podcast, we talked about the polar bear in the room, but also about industry change and the strikes and so much more. It was a singular moment and I was thrilled to share that moment with the ATX family.

The day the book came out, I published this piece on Charisma Carpenter, Cordelia Chase (her Buffy and Angel character), and why the way they carried themselves in life and on screen got me through some incredibly hard times. I’m so, so proud of this essay and thrilled that Roxane Gay and Meg Pillow of The Audacity published it (read The Audacity, it rules!). By the way, you do not have to subscribe to the Audacity to read the piece.

Here’s more coverage of the book that I enjoyed a whole bunch (and in coming months, I'll add to this list at moryan.com as links come in):

And now: podcastery! My whole personality is now “I will go on your podcast and yell about Hollywood fuckery” (well sometimes it’s not yelling, it’s just, uh, witty and/or forceful chatting). Anyway, here’s selection of radio/podcast appearances (which are generally available on most if not all leading podcast platforms):

Genuinely, truly, deeply: If you bought the book, got it from a library, talked about it in real life or online, or supported it in any way, I'm incredibly grateful to you. As a first-time author, I was so nervous about how the book would be received, and you all conspired to make the reception far more warm, thoughtful and successful than I'd ever imagined in my wildest dreams.

Thank you, and I hope the rest of your summer is wonderful.